Health

Depression Do Have A You Have a Choice, The Truth

depression

Do you have a choice when it comes to depression?  Here’s what I found out.  You do have a choice.  You make up your own mind  to be depressed or not.  You encounter a bad situation. A lot of those are just little things that get to you and allow it to fester until before you know it, it encompasses you.  It’s all you think about. Your whole life is consumed with it until sometimes you can barely function.

Depression can be the root of many illnesses.

Depression contributes to a wide array of physical problems that affect everything from your heart to your immune system.

From my own experience, I have had my bouts with depression before.  It wasn’t until the last bout over a year ago I discovered I had a choice in the matter.  Most depression is about how you react to a certain situation.   The beauty of it is most of the time you don’t need medication, or expensive therapies.  You can turn it around with one simple decision that you’re not going to be depressed anymore.

There  was something I remembered one day when I was out for a walk.  I remembered something that my mother had  always told us kids while we were growing up.  She said, “Life is what you make it.”  Mom was always right. So I was thinking to myself, “do I want really want to be like this, how do I want my life to be like?”  So right then and there I made a decision.  That’s when things then started to turn around for me.  I had tried all kinds of things before short of going to the doctor for some antidepressants and or therapy, nothing was working.  It was in the fall so I tried light therapy, I had read where St. John’s Wort was good for depression so I tried taking that for awhile.  That did not work.  Then it was like a light bulb went off in my head, a eureka moment. What my mother had said years ago that how you make your own life, I did not have to be depressed if I didn’t want to. At first I had to keep reminding myself of that even when I was feeling bad. It wasn’t easy.  The good news is my depression did eventually leave.  Even difficult sometimes, I know now how to deal with those issues that try to bring me down. I don’t allow those negative things to fester in my mind anymore.   I choose instead focus on those things I enjoy and make me happy.

I am a person of faith and even the Bible tells us that we have a choice about how we live our lives.

For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he”  Proverbs 23:7

“I call heaven and earth to record this day against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing: therefore choose life, that both thou and thy seed may live:”  Deuteronomy 30:19

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.”  Proverbs 18:21

Paul Joseph Watson  sums up the truth about depression quite nicely in this video:

What are you going to choose?  What’s it going to be?  I would recommend  you choose not to be depressed but rather to be happy, content and healthy.

 

Leave a Reply

